In the life of a Beauty Hauler

One of the numerous problems of a beauty addict is that sometimes, we buy products we don’t need out of impulse or under the influence of overly hyped items that float around, or even buy a duplicate product since you can’t keep track of what you have or do not already have. I am also guilty of these and consequentially, run out of space to keep them or sometimes stack them in places that are hard to reach or see so eventually they end up as ornaments and your money is not put to use. It is so easy to keep buying lipsticks or eyeshadows of the same color pay off when applied to the skin. After all, they look different in the packaged containers or because they are on sale and to top it off, your favorite YouTuber just gave u the go-ahead to purchase it and it is worth the splurge.

Here is my take. Considering that I watch a lot of beauty and hair review videos (which will elaborated upon in subsequent blog posts) i’m at a high risk for impulse spending, especially on vanity item. Fortunately, I have control over my spending habits (if to say as person dey watch YouTube na him money dey waka commot pocket, na bridge i for dey count). My first tip to my non-makeup artist, beauty savvy, make up lovers and income earning is this. Build yourself a savings plan! I’m not an accountant or auditor but you have to be responsible and apply common sense to your what you spend on vanity products. I need to emphasize that most of these Youtuber’s, if permitted to use that term, have pro discounts at high-end stores, get discounted items at makeup shows, or sometimes get sent free products, primarily for reviews. One way to save, taking baby steps, is following a 52 week money challenge, which is detailed in the picture.

Featured image Sometimes, I walk into M.A.C or Sephora with the intention of buying one lipstick or brush, and i come out with half of the store. Now, I understand that the staff there encourage you to buy this and that and you can’t blame them for doing their job, but you have to learn to say NO, I’ll come back for it or I already have it, period!!!! Beauties, please don’t let temptations knock your wallet into the ground, it’s easier to spend than save. Always keep in mind that these are vanity product, bottom list in basic human needs should not cost your arm and leg. My recommendation is that you list what you already, I used excel to organize what I already have, what I need to get before it runs out and highlight what you don’t already have, to prevent duplicate purchase and discipline yourself by sticking to that plan.

Organize your beauty stash. My bathroom is very small and self-contained but i made it work to my advantage. Get yourself some shelves, TRANSPARENT containers from the dollar store, Target, Walmart, beauty supply store, the container store, Muji etc. Transparent so you can actually see your beauty products and put them to use instead of sitting there, why then was it purchased? Here is a picture of how I’m able to organize my bathroom to promote conveniency of use.

PhotoGrid_1415759946291_2

PhotoGrid_1415760115900_0 PhotoGrid_1415760225836_3

If you guys have any suggestions, opinions or concerns, feel free to spill it out so we can all learn on ways to cut back and spend wisely on beauty products. Enjoy Beauties and have a wonderful saving spree lol!

Leave a Reply

